L to R: Frank Spencer, Acting Chairman; Stuart Speirs, Abbott Insurance Brokers; Allan Reynolds, Steadfast; Robert Kelly, Steadfast; and David Newman, Southsure.  (Absent: Tim Loan, Southsure.)

Frank Spencer


Frank joined the Abbott board in April 2015 and now serves as the Acting Chairman.  He has considerable experience in financial services offering an independent, future focussed viewpoint.

A Registered Valuer and Property Consultant, Frank is the Managing Director of Logan Stone Limited, an established valuation and property management company based in Hawke’s Bay.

Frank also serves on the SBS Bank board and was a longstanding Director of the Hastings Building Society (HBS) and Chairman prior to its merger with SBS Bank in 2010.

Stuart Speirs

Stuart joined the Abbott board in 2006 following a merger between his independent brokerage and Abbott Insurance Brokers.

With a career spanning 30 years, Stuart offers a strategic and technical understanding of commercial insurance broking as a practising shareholder Director.  He continues to provide high-end insurance and client-focussed service throughout the South Island, while serving the Abbott board, Clubs New Zealand Insurance Services board, and the Insurance Brokers Association of New Zealand (IBANZ) board.

Allan Reynolds

Dip. Bus. Studies (Insurance), ANZIIF (Fellow), CIP

Allan joined the Abbott board in July 2016 representing the Steadfast Group Limited (Steadfast).  Sydney based, Allan is the Executive General Manager – Direct & New Zealand.

With a background in product development and distribution, corporate strategy and portfolio management, Allan has more than 40 years of industry experience in general insurance, including broking.

Allan joined Steadfast in 2002, and in April 2015 took on the Direct and New Zealand portfolios.  He is also an honorary member and board member of the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance (ANZIIF).

Robert Kelly

Robert is the Managing Director and CEO of Steadfast, the largest distributor of general insurance in Australia and New Zealand, and joined the Abbott board in July 2016.

He has more than 45 years’ experience in the insurance industry and co-founded Steadfast in 1996.  He led the company to a successful listing on the Australian Securities Exchange (ASX) and Steadfast is now an ASX 200 company with a market capitalisation of over $1.5 billion.

Robert was the ‘Insurance Industry Leader of the Year’ at the 2011 Annual Australian Insurance Industry Awards and was named the second ‘Most Influential Person in the Insurance Industry’ in 2014 by Insurance News magazine.  He was one of the finalists in CEO Magazine’s 2015 ‘CEO of the Year Awards’, and a national finalist for the Eastern Region in the 2016 ‘EY Entrepreneur of the Year’ programme. In March 2014, Robert was awarded the prestigious Association for Cooperative Operations Research and Development (ACORD) ‘Rainmaker Award’.

Robert is a Director of various Steadfast subsidiaries, including the Steadfast Foundation, and is also a Director of the charity KidsXpress, and ACORD International representing the Asia Pacific region.

David Newman

B. Com, Dip. Banking, FINSIA (Fellow)

David joined the Abbott board in April 2015 and brings with him a wealth of experience in both the banking and insurance industries.

Currently Chief Executive and a shareholder Director of Southsure Assurance Limited, an independent trading subsidiary of SBS Bank, David has an in-depth understanding of the domestic life insurance market.

Prior to spearheading Southsure’s emergence in 2002 as an independent entity of SBS, David held senior roles at SBS Bank, including General Manager Operations and Finance, and Chief Financial Officer.

Tim Loan

B. Com, FCA, Dip. Bus. Studies (IS), MInstD

Tim joined the Abbott board in May 2017 as a Southsure appointed Director and offers considerable insight into New Zealand’s banking and information technology industries.

Tim is currently the Chief Financial Officer at SBS Bank and prior to joining the bank in 2003, he was the CFO at Terralink International Limited.  He has held various managerial roles in finance and information systems over the years, following a ten-year career start with Ernst and Young.

A Fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand, he also holds various company secretary positions within the SBS Bank Group, as well as external directorships in the not-for-profit and local authority sectors.